Posted by: Trigger | 25 August, 2008

Well, that wasn’t exactly what I had hoped for.

So, the upside is, I ran well this weekend. And our team placed well, all things considered. We ran 197 miles in 28 hours and 20 minutes. That’s apparently just under 8:37 minute miles, on average. I was more like 8:50-9:00 minute mile pace, so that tells you I was among the slower folks on the team, but all things considered, I was pleased. And we had a TON of fun.

Among the above referenced things to be considered, is the news that I gave myself a rockin’ muscle/tendon strain. And potentially a fracture hidden down in there, that’s just not visible on x-ray. So now I get to wear a boot. I’m really irrationally embarrassed by the boot. As a coping mechanism, I mostly laugh at and make fun of myself for needing it. For the next two weeks. At least.

And well, you know, the really important thing to consider, is: what am I going to wear???

(For the record, what I’m most upset about is not my newfound wardrobe dilemmas, but actually the fact that I can’t work out for at least 2 weeks, possibly longer, and I am going to be BEYOND pissed at myself if I wind up really out of shape and gaining weight over the next few weeks…grrr! Also, this means I won’t be running in the Komen Race for the Cure, which I LOVE. Over 40,000 people run each year in Portland, it’s a really good time! Oh well. Sad Face.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

