Posted by: Trigger | 10 July, 2008

Meme, the first.

Today, I decided to do a meme. It’s funny, because I first read about memes like 7 years ago in a course called “Evolution of Cooperation and Ethics” for my little snooty college within a college, when I read a couple of books that used the term, written by Richard Dawkins (who coined the term) and Daniel Dennett (who applied it a little bit differently than Dawkins). That was a good course. And a good time in my life. And now, thanks to that course, I get a flashback to the HC colloquia room where we met, and spring term of that year – which was unseasonably hot – and the cute boy I sat next to, and the other cute boy who I hung out with, who was the first of many I dated during college, and and and…you get the picture. It’s a virtual kaleidoscope of memories, all rolled up into one little word that’s bandied about the interwebs daily. So there’s that. Back to the meme. (There it goes again! Eugene, spring 2001, cute boy, house parties, whew, it’s like falling through the rabbit hole each time!)

I found this when I was reading around the blogosphere, checking out some new peeps. This came from Shelly at “Not the Daddy,” who I believe found it somewhere else. Here goes.
1. You have 10 dollars and need to buy snacks at a gas station. What do you get?
WELL. A fruit punch gatorade. Berry Skittles. And probably Cheddar Chex Mix. $10 doesn’t get ya too far in convenience stores these days, I think.

2. If you were reincarnated as a sea creature, what would you want to be?
Probably…oh heck. I don’t know. Something totally unoriginal, like a dolphin.

3. Who’s your favorite redhead?
I really like Lindsay Lohan back when she was cute and young and not a crack head skinny coked out dyed blonde nut job. You know, like Mean Girls Era Lindsay Lohan.

4. What do you order when you’re at IHOP?
So, when you live in a city like Portland, it’s actually quite hard to get to big chain restaurants like IHOP. At least, in the neighborhoods within a 20-25 min drive radius. And let’s be clear, I’m not driving that far to go to an IHOP. I’m a bit of a foodie snob, I’m sorry to say. My favorite nearby breakfast place has this delicious Dungeness crab eggs benedict number, with crab, heirloom tomatoes, chevre and hollandaise sauce. It’s pretty divine. So that’s my go to order at our usual breakfast haunt. Although, I just looked at the IHOP menu online, and I’d probably order the Stuffed French Toast if there were one nearby. I’m a sucker for cream cheese, and strawberries, and whip cream!

5. Last book you read?
“Drown” a book of short stories by Junot Diaz. Definitely recommend.

6. Describe your mood.
Antsy – I want to get all my work done and go home. This meme isn’t helping that cause, but oh well.

7. Describe the last time you were injured.
WELL. Let’s see. I would guess that it would have to be when I was at the rehearsal for that wedding a couple of weeks ago, and one of the other bridesmaids stomped on my foot with her stiletto, which hurt like hell. It broke the skin. And it swelled up in an area about the same size as an egg. I iced it for a couple of hours that night, and it was already bruising by two hours after the incident. Funny this came up, too, because it’s been two full weeks and it still hurts in one of my metatarsals…so this morning I was starting to wonder if something kinda serious went wrong…who knows.

8. Of all your friends, who would you want to be stuck in a well with?
Jeez. Just one? I have awesome friends. Probably either my best friend from college, Finn, or my best new friend in Portland, who we shall call…HotMama (she has a six week old baby, and is already back in smokin’ shape!). She’s just about the most hilarious person I know. Also, she’s a very kind friend.

9. Rock concert or symphony?
Indie Rock concert, boy howdy. I’ll be there, you name the time/place.

10. What is the wallpaper of your cell phone?
Some little gray/silver number I got off the Verizon server.

11. Favorite soda?
Well, first of all, it’s not soda, it’s pop. And my favorite POP is Dr. Pepper.

12. What type of shirt are you wearing?
I actually have three layers on. Bottom layer: cream cami with little lace detail from Maurices, middle layer, sleeveless black/cream kinda floral outline patterned shirt from Old Navy (it’s about 5 years old, but it’s held up well), and top layer – black cardigan from Express.

13. If you could only use one form of transportation?
BICYCLE!

14. Most recent movie you have watched in theater?
Iron Man. AND I LOVED IT!!!

15. Name an actor/actress/singer you have had the hots for.
Oh jeez. I am currently deep in like with James McAvoy.

16. What’s your favorite kind of cake?
Cup-cakes. Any and all kinds.

17. What did you have for dinner last night?
Tortellini with gorgonzola sauce. Way indulgent, but it was the first time Finn and I had seen each other since the engagement part had turned into a wedding, and so we needed to be girly and linger over a scrumptious dinner and talk details.

18. Look to your left, what do you see?
Well, a lot of stuff. My phone. My coffee mug. My water bottle. And my window, looking out into the courtyard in front of my u-shaped building. Mysteriously, there are always dogs barking down in that courtyard. I say mysteriously, because I WORK AT A HOSPITAL! A large one. All there is, for blocks and blocks, are building associated with the hospital/children’s hospitals/research laboratories/medical school/nursing school. WHERE ARE ALL THESE DOGS COMING FROM? Dogs don’t belong in hospitals!

19. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?
You betcha.

20. Favorite toy as a child?
My favorite toy was my imagination, especially shared with my childhood BFF. I know that’s cheesy, but seriously. We came up with all sorts of fun games, most of them that involved elaborate plots and few props.

21. Do you buy your own groceries?
Yes. Z sometimes helps. But then we just wind up with, like, a bunch of protein bars and eggs and steak. And little that combines to make a full meal.

22. Do you think people talk about you behind your back?
Um. No. I have done relatively few scandalous things. Oh, wait! I have managed to be involved in several roommate type relationships that went down in spectacular and very spiteful flames. So I bet the ex roommates definitely talked about me behind my back.

23. Gummy Worms or Hershey Kisses?
Gummy worms. Also note: worms are perferable to bears.

24. What’s your favorite fruit?
WATERMELON, DUH. (My hometown is famous in the Western U.S. for it’s watermelons, as a child of that town, I am practically required to love them. But, also, they are DELICIOUS. So it’s win-win, really.)

25. Do you have a picture of yourself doing a cartwheel?
Sadly, of all the many things I have done in my life, a cartwheel is not one of them. I never learned! I climbed trees, played about 6 sports growing up, did three different types of dance, and not a single successful cartwheel to my name. One of my more embarassing teenage memories was when my dance team instructor wanted to see if she could teach the whole team to do an aerial cartwheel (basically a no handed cartwheel, they’re very cool to watch). And so she started to teach us, and I had to confess that I couldn’t even do a regular cartwheel. They tried to teach me, but…no luck. I think that’s the only thing I’ve truly ever failed at. It was mortifying.

26. Do you like running long distances?
Yes. Very much so. I’m not sure I’ll ever do a marathon, but I like the idea of it. Running is so satisfying, and challenging, and rewarding. I love it.

27. What is your secret trash food pleasure?
Chili cheese freetos. And cheese stuffed corn dogs.

28. What color are your bedsheets?
White.

29. What’s your favorite flower?
Ranunculus. (Ranuncu-who’s? You might ask? Here’s an example. And a second example. At least, that’s the kind I like. It’s a whole family, and includes buttercups. Don’t eat them, they’re poisonous!)

30. Do you do ballet?
Not lately. But from age 4-14, yes. I quit after two and a half years en pointe. I do not have a dancer’s body, I’m short and all curves, so the point shoes and I had a long fought battle. I was never going to be better than mediocre at point, and there was no one in my small town to partner me, so I kind of reached a dead end, ballet-wise. Plus, I started cramming my feet in to point shoes while I was still growing, so as a result I have effed up toes and ankles now. Oh well!

31. Do you listen to classical music?
Only when the admin I share office space with plays it at work. Fortunately, she’s only here half time. So I get to rock the new wave and indie rock the rest of the time.

32. What is the first TV Theme song that pops in your head?
“Unwritten” by what’s her face, the theme from the Hills. Love that trashy shoe. Kind of hate the theme song.

33. Are you really worried about Global warming?
Yes. This is a catastrophe that is of epic proportions. We might be okay, but in the end, I’m guessing we’ve done some long lasting damage. Not necessarily unfixable. But we’ve really gone and done a number on our climate. What I’m most worried about is the disruption of the global wind patterns, because if things keep warming unchecked, the whole wind gyres on each hemisphere will shut down, and there will be little to no air exchange between the hot equatorial regions and the cold polar regions. From my limited understanding of marine biology/climatology/other natural geo sciences, this will be disastrous. More disastrous than I think many people can imagine. People, I’m not trying to tell you what to think. But global warming is not some fad. It’s a scientific theory. In science, a theory is different than the vernacular use of the word, and also different than a hypothesis – a hypothesis is something that needs to be tested, a theory is something that HAS ALREADY been tested, multiple times, and has empirical data and evidence to back it up. Virtually no scientists dispute global warming at this point in time, although the media has portrayed that as the case. That portrayal is untrue. The scientific community is almost unanimously united on this topic – something which is no small feat. Hell, the nobel prize went to people educating the world about man-made climate change last year. That’s a BIG DEAL. They don’t hand those out to fakers. Okay, so I know I’m getting all preachy right her, but listen. I’m a scientist by nature. For CENTURIES, the general populace of the world has had a knack for disregarding scientific discoveries that are not convenient for the status quo. Ever heard of Galileo? And what he went through? Hmmm, quite possibly not so different – people didn’t want to believe the Earth rotated around the sun, or that the world was not flat – but that didn’t mean their beliefs were true. Anyway, regardless of how you feel about climate change, I don’t see why we shouldn’t all want to be responsible citizens. Burn less fossil fuels, so that our air quality improves (less pollution, yay!). Recycle more, so that we don’t have to keep finding new places for landfills, that will eventually mean we have them right in our backyards. Spend less money by slashing our consumerism. Save more money, have a more stable retirement. I think that stuff (which will help our ecosystem) all just makes sense, regardless of the motivations you have for doing it.

34. What temperature is it outside right now?
Weather.gov says it is 89 degrees F. It’s going to be a hot bike ride home!

35. Do people consider you smart?
Yeah, I am guessing so. When you major in science, especially when you zero in on neuroscience specifically, you kind of automatically get stuck with the smart label. I like to think I’m well-rounded, though…

36. On what occasions do you lie?
I’m only a white-lie type of person. So, like when I’m setting up a surprise for someone and need a cover story. Or when my family is trying to convince me to do something boring that I don’t want to do, and I am miraculously “already busy” that weekend…

37. Are you signed on [to] AIM?
not anymore

38. Have you ever tried gluing your fingers together?
I have glued my fingers together (thanks superglue), but not intentionally.

39. How do you feel about your family?
They are noisy, and funny, and warm, and caring, and occasionally annoying, and everything I could ever ask for (and more). I feel very lucky, even when they get on my nerves. (They’re pretty needy when they make their way from my small hometown to my current big(ish) city.)

40. Do you have an iPod?
Yes. A nano. Z gave me his old one when my 3 year old one gave up last year. I think they should be able to last longer than that, but oh well.

41. What time do you go to bed?
10:30-11:30 pm.

42. What CD is currently in your CD player?
I think Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s self titled debut? I don’t know, I’m not around cd players much.

43. What movie do you know every line to?
Empire Records. Entirely too many viewings with the high school BFFs, back in the day.

44. What is your favorite salad dressing?
Bleu cheese, or balsamic vinagrette

45. What do you want for Christmas this year?
Well, not sure. But! My birthday’s coming up sooner than Christmas, in just a few weeks actually. And I do know what I want for that. A new transmission, so that my car will work again. Something tells me I can keep dreaming on that front.

46. What family member/friend lives the farthest from you? Where?
BigCityBrother lives in Manhattan. I live in Oregon. That’s a whole continent away.

47. Do you like hugs?
Love them. Get me drunk, and I like them even more! I can even coax hugs out of traditionally non-huggers.

48. Last time you had butterflies in your stomach?
Well, it’s not a happy time, but Z and I had a particularly bad fight recently and I got SO MAD. I never get mad! Being that mad at him made me nervous, and I totally get nervous tummy (a la Tessie).

49. What’s the way people most often mispronounce any part of your name?
My first name gets mispronounced, but if I told you specifically how I’d have to kill you. Let’s just say, my name ocurrs in multiple languages, and is pronounced differently in English vs., let’s say, Spanish. I look vaguely hispanic (dark hair, can at times be quite dark skinned), so sometimes it’s gets pronounced that way. Also, my last name which is QUITE unique, always confuses people when the see it, because usually I’m the only time they’ve seen it. There are two vowels, one of which (if not both) is usually mispronounced. That’s all I can say, little anonymous me over here.
50. Last person you hugged?
The bf, Z. A “have a good day” hug this morning. 🙂

Responses

  1. Um. I didn’t know you danced for ten years.

    And gummi bears are a THOUSAND times better than worms. We can’t be friends anymore.

  2. I wholeheartedly concur that gummi bears spank gummi worms’ asses. (?) But I’ll still be your friend.

    Did you check out Blind Pilot yet? Did you? Did you? They are SO GOOD!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. I miss Mean Girls era LiLo, too. She was so cute!

  4. I love Junot Diaz!


Leave a Reply

Categories

