Posted by: Trigger | 30 May, 2008

Maneater, make him work hard…

Well, freaders. I suck at keeping up on this thing (“this thing” = my blog, who the heck am I?) during hectic life times.

It’s been busy around these parts. Not a lot of blogging time. Not even a lot of blog reading time! Most of my free computer time has been spent a) keeping up with Mission: Put Together, and b) emailing about the bachelorette party I’m planning. Which is tomorrow.

That’s right, tomorrow, bright and early, I’m headed to points north (i.e. Seattle, WA) to throw one heck of a bachelorette party. We’re less of a “go out, get wasted because it’s your last night of freedom” and more of a “go out, get wasted because you’re doing something really cool and your friends are happy for you” type of crowd. So it’ll be fun, and not very raunchy, and that’s just fine by me.

We’ve got a table reserved at this place, “Havana Social Club.” It’s in a very hip part of Seattle, and I hear that it’s full of hip, beautiful people. But not in a trashy meat market sort of way, which is good. This club was the basis for all of my plans for the evening…because after it was decided we would go there, and given that the bride to be is all parts classy and no parts trashy, we’re making the whole vibe of the night a sort of sultry, swanky 1950s Cuban Social Club/Resorty type theme. I’ve set up a pre-party at a friend’s place up there, where I’ll be serving rum based cocktails and the Jamaican beer Red Stripe (closest I could find to Cuban beer), tapas involving shrimp and lime and mangos and etc. I’ve got deep gold and Caribbean plates and utensils, and serving dishes in bright oranges and reds and blues and greens. We’ll be lighting tons of candles around, and I have hibiscus and other tropical flowers to surround some of the bowls and etc with, as some simple decorations. Also, we’ll have some fresh birds of paradise and hibiscus, and what have you. Then there’s some old fashioned globe lights, and we’ll keep the regular lighting off – so it’ll be deep and dark. And I’ve picked out about 3 hours worth of Caribbean music – mostly Cuban, although I had to branch out to a little bit of other stuff because I don’t have more than 2 albums of Cuban stuff.

For fun times besides the food and adult beverages, we’ll just have one simple “game.” Everyone is supposed to bring a wrapped pair of undies – no suggested price range, no direction at all, just a pair that they want the bride to have. They can be silly, cute, funny, sassy, sexy, whatever! And this should be wrapped with no name on it. The bachelorette will open them, and guess who gave her which pair. Just a really fun way to give our friend some fun things to add to her “boudoir” and also break some of the ice with people who don’t know each other.

The only other “game” is a list of things that the bride is supposed to try to accomplish by the end of the night, to be documented on camera. Some of my favorite examples are:

-Get a shot and lead all your friends in prayer before drinking it

-Find a cute guy and ask him to practice walking down the aisle with you

-Find the cheesiest guy in the place, and ask him if he’s going to get lucky tonight

Anyway, I’ve got two/two and half paintin’ the town red outfits packed already, and my carpool friend is ready to go at 10:00 a.m. tomorrow, and then – paaaartay!

Hope y’all have nice weekends as well. 🙂

Responses

  1. I love the undies idea! Have a great weekend!

  2. I think El Presidente is Cuban. My Boy loves it, and its good with lime (like cornona, but not)
    sounds like a perfect par-tay!

  3. If I ever get engaged, will you plan my bachelorette party? It sounds awesome! Also, I love the underwear game–far superior to most dumb bachelorette games.

  4. Hope the party is great! I am seriously bookmarking this post for future reference because that sounds exactly like the type of bachelorette party I want. The last one I went to was dumb and included various penis-shaped accessories and was SO NOT ME. Your games are adorable! 🙂

  5. […] how I’m staking my claim for best bachelorette party ever. The last weekend in May (5/31, see previous post), I actually threw my dear friend THE BEST BACHELORETTE PARTY EVER (BBPE). Several people even […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

