Posted by: Trigger | 28 April, 2008

How Sweet it Is.

I’m not normally the gushy type.

Sure, I like the girly movies – I’ll admit. And sure, I cry when the people I care about have hard times, romantically speaking. You know, I even get a little heart swell when I hear uplifting true love stories. And I am THE best person to have around if you’re getting ready to go on a first date (I’ll play you the first date song, squeal and generally fuss over you until you’re feeling confident and attractive). I’ve been known to be so excited about a friend’s engagement, that I quite truthfully threw my car keys in her face. HER FACE. (I don’t know why, it just happened!)

But when it comes to my own life, I’m more appreciative of a solid, steady, day-in day-out kind of love, rather than the flowers and candy and huge declarations and gestures. I don’t need elaborate Valentine’s Days, or fussy anniversary (date-iversary, I call it) dates, and I quite honestly would be embarrassed to have flowers delivered to my work. Which really, it all works out, as there is little chance of having to weather those sorts of potentially uncomfortable (to me) situations, as Z is quite decidedly not a flower-sending, fuss-making type of guy.

“It’s good to see you,” Z says, lazy grin on his face, as we’re both just waking up on a Friday morning. “You ready to face the day, Tough T?”

“I missed you today. You had a cute outfit on today. I liked it, you looked nice,” after a welcome home from work hug.

“You look cute in that dress, even if it is baby blue and ugly. And you DON’T look like a stuffed sausage,” apparently anticipating my predictable response to his compliment…

“I love you, T. You’re my very favorite person.” For no reason at all.

It was a good weekend.

Responses

  1. Aww, the sweetness!

    Also, getting flowers at work IS embarrassing. Especially when it happens all the time due to a blog-stalking flower company, and everyone keeps talking about how sweet your fiance is to send them, and you keep having to be like, Um…

  2. AS is like that, too… and I love it!

  3. Aw. That’s wonderful. And you don’t look like a sausage. 🙂

  4. Awww!! I think I swooned a bit reading this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

