Posted by: Trigger | 4 April, 2008

Raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens.

I decided, why not, let’s do a “these are a few of my favorite things” post. Because I like talking about cool stuff. I have a zillion trillion favorite things, I love things, if not for my intense love for things, I would probably be a communist. But I just can’t give up cool stuff, so I’d make a bad comrade…plus, due to a variety of factors (sensitive skin, few big personal indulgences, an imagined increase of my salary that lives inside my head but isn’t real), I tend to buy the spendy stuff, and I’m pretty sure that’s against the rules of communism. Last time I checked, at least. (Okay, so I didn’t really check, that’s not the point.) Just don’t think I’m a high roller based on my list…this is about the only facet of my life where I let myself spend like this. (Also, I’m hoping my karma points burned through consumerism are regained through my dedication to recycling, biking to work and altruistic job choice…)

Anywho. Let’s start with my favorite make up and toiletry things, because they deserve their very own post:

Shampoo & Conditioner: As a treat – Kerastase Bain Satin Shampoo, Lait Vital Conditioner


Z says they smell like soap, I think that it luxury has a smell, this is it. And also, they’re a bit cinnamon-y. Not sure why our sniffers are so different on this one, but what I definitely know is unrefutable: they leave my hair shiny and soft. That is also helped along by the no heat drying routine (because I’m not above going to work with damp hair) (oh who am I kidding, my hair is WET when I leave for work).

On a daily basis – Redken Clear Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner

Same as above, leave my hair shiny and smooth. Different price point (about 1/3 the cost), and with a scent that both Z and I agree is quite tasty.

Facescrub: Cosmedicine Medi-morphosis Self Adjusting Exfoliator

Can’t go wrong with this one. Gentle enough for every day use (at least, I think so).

Cleanser & Moisturizer: Murad Vitalic Energizing Pomagranate – Cleanser and Moisturizer (SPF 15)


Wash doesn’t over dry, and smells delish. Lotion absorbs quickly, leaving just the right amount of moisture.

Base Make-up: I alternate between a few different options.

1) For light coverage, dry days: Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer in Porcelain (because I’m a total whitey), SPF 20 – sheer coverage, no make-up induced breakouts with this guy.

2) To mix things up, or sometimes on top of the Laura Mercier, Susan Posnick’s ColorFlo brush-containing mineral powder foundation. It’s pretty good. Sometimes I feel funny just wearing powder, other times, it’s perfect. SPF 26. (Have I mentioned I’m really white? And SPF is important to me? All those years as a lifeguard, swim instructor, swimmer, 80 hours in the blazing desert sun have me totally convinced I’m going to be a prune or have skin cancer by 55…now I protect my porcelain skin like it’s a national treasure…but really it’s just pasty…)

3) For real coverage, like when I know pictures will be taken, or when I’m fighting off some particularly bad skin, I like two things – Yves Saint Laurent Perfect Touch foundation in #1:

Or Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation in #0.

I know I sound like a god-awful pretentious snob here. But I have serious issues with finding foundation light enough for me that isn’t too pink – I’ve got olive undertones buried way down deep in my pale pale complexion, which apparently (news to me) is not the case for most white white girls. And don’t even get me started on how many brands don’t have colors light enough for me…gah. So these two are winners.

My real gotta-haves, though? Spot & under-eye concealer.

For spot, I love Bobbi Brown’s Blemish Cover stick in Porcelain. And under-eye concealer? The Balm’s TimeBalm. It’s awesome, good coverage, doesn’t get smudgy or creasy after wear. Love.

Mascara & Lips: If I were to toot my own horn about my appearance, the one area I could totally tout without feeling like a really lame braggart would be my eyes and my smile. I like my eyelashes, and coat them with Yves Saint Laurent Faux Cils mascara in black or cranberry (to give my hazel eyes a boost).

The YSL costs a lot (like $30 a tube) but it never gets dried up and goupy, so I can use the tube for a good 8-9 months without it getting gross, way longer than any other brand I’ve ever tried. Never tried the blue before, can’t vouch one way or another for that. 🙂

For my normal sized lips, I like to give them a little love with a variety of glosses (one might say I’m addicted) but the three that really work well for me…they’re all sort of variations on the same theme, all good for daily wear alone, or layered over a couple of different lipsticks if I’m really looking for a statement.

Chanel Glossimer in Rose Sand

Yves Saint Laurent Gold Gloss Shimmering Lip Gloss in #2 Golden Praline

LipFusion gloss, in Glow

Perfume: Betsey Johnson, Jean Paul Gaultier Classique.

I’m not one for overly floral scents, nor am I a citrus kinda girl. So these are both I think what you would call “woodsy” and “orientals” with touches of other things. Z helped pick both out, and we instantly agreed on these two together. Packaging’s a little wacky of the Betsey, but once you get past that, it’s divine. The JPG just never get’s old. They each have lots of notes featuring amber, amberwood, musk, sandalwood, both with different extra complimentary notes (Betsey, freesia, lily of the valley, blackcurrent, pear; JPG, daffodil, vanilla, rose, orchid – you get the idea).

AAAAAAND, there’s my little consumerist plug for my favorite products, perfect for the pale girls. I will now proceed to hang my head in shame that I just proclaimed to the internets what a cosmetic and product-whore I am…have a good weekend, all!

Responses

  1. My lord. Definitely some things to keep in mind, as a fellow translucent-pale girl herself.

  2. I thought I was the only pasty white girl who had olive skin undertones! I am literally drooling over your makeup hair care/skin care collection. Mine are soo generic (and i wonder why my hair isn’t fabulously silky smooth! altho I can’t do the moisture shampoos, my hair turns into a grease pit, its really attractive.) but I definitely will be taking your advice on those foundations, that’s a great tip!

    Hope you had a fabulous weekend!

  3. Ooooo I love this post. So many good tips!


Leave a Reply

Categories

