Posted by: Trigger | 28 November, 2007

Prove Yourself.

This morning I found out that the lump in Finn’s dad’s chest is cancerous, and it’s in his trachea right after the airway splits in two to supply each lung. Looks like he’ll be losing one lung due to surgery to remove the mass, and then he’ll go through chemo. Ugh. Just ugh. She and I are going to dinner tonight, to process the news/provide a distraction for her/talk about dumb shit/talk about nothing at all as is necessary.

Until then, something mindless is in order. I wasn’t exactly tagged to do this meme, but I’m taking it upon myself to go ahead and do it anyway. Here are the rules:

1. Put your iTunes/ music player on Shuffle

2. For each question, press the next button to get your answer.

3. YOU MUST WRITE THAT SONG NAME DOWN NO MATTER WHAT
Ready, set, go!

IF SOMEONE SAYS “IS THIS OKAY” YOU SAY?
Off the Record by My Morning Jacket
Apparently I’ll only talk if it’s confidential. Ha! I’m such a blabbermouth, this one’s dripping with irony.

WHAT WOULD BEST DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONALITY?
The District Sleeps Alone Tonight by the Postal Service
Interesting. Apparently this little meme combined with my iTunes is relishing the irony – I’m not much of one to be alone. I like me some company. Living with the boy, there are very few sleeping alone nights. Which is great, if you ask me.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A GUY/GIRL?
La belle et le bad boy by MC Solaar
Also ironic, as I never thought I went for the bad boys, I always was with fairly sweet (if awkward) kind of nerdy boys. Cute ones, but nerdy still. The Zebra, what with his predilection for pushing boundaries, is probably the closest to a bad boy I’ve dated. And he’s also the one I’ve been the most serious with…so maybe this is right…

HOW DO YOU FEEL TODAY?
Ashes by Embrace
Fortunately for me, I feel very much alive. No ashes here. Phew.

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE?
Mr. Ambulance Driver by The Flaming Lips
Tres curious…this one is coincidentally close to my life aspiration of becoming a physician…

WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO?
Sleep by Azure Ray
Well, I do like me some good night’s sleep. And I lust after the idea of an occasional nap.

WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU?
Can’t Stop Now by Keane
Well, this song is about leaving someone behind who’s bringing you down. I am hoping my friends aren’t thinking about ditching me because I’m such a drag. Moving along.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR PARENTS?
Faking the Books by Lali Puna
You know, I don’t suspect my parents of fraud (literal meaning of song title) , or of trying to be someone other than they really are (metaphorical meaning of song lyrics). So not really sure what to say here. Music meme, YOU’RE WRONG! So there.

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN?
Pop Song 89 by R.E.M.
I do have a bit of a soft spot for all things musically related. It’s only been since taking a job where I see patients that I quit having my iPod earbuds crammed into my ears 12 hours out of the day.

WHAT IS 2+2?
Shake Me Baby by Junior Senior
Simple arithmetic makes me want to sing Dylan-influenced new wave love songs, that’s it.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND?
Portland Oregon by Loretta Lynn
Well, I am glad that she moved back to the same city as me (the title of this song) and we can now have dinners out and go pay day shoe shopping! Maybe this meme is wrong only part of the time.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
Just Can’t Get Enough by Depeche Mode
Come on, that’s just funny.

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY?
Please Me Like You Want To by Ben Harper
So, I do happen to be a people pleaser. Maybe I’m looking for someone to do the same for me?

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP?
Hot Hot Hot!!! by the Cure
It’s true, I’m not gonna lie. I want to be hot when I grow up. So sue me, who doesn’t?

WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
Passin’ Me By by Pharcyde
Well, he better not be passin’ me by. He better be taking me with him when he goes!

WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU?
I’m an Actor – Phoenix
My parents don’t think I’m an actor, I know for a fact that they think I’m a very genuine, kind person. Sure, they’re biased, but still.

WHAT WILL YOU DANCE TO AT YOUR WEDDING?
It’s Good to Be In Love by Frou Frou
I mean, that’s actually pretty cute. The Zebra and I decided at the last wedding that we were at that Journey’s Don’t Stop Believin’ would be a really funny first dance song. I can picture it now – we’d have to set up some dramatic, karaoke type of stylings to go with the dance. I’m thinking spot lights, fading to black, etc.

WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL?
Life Effect by Stars
It’s a cute, sweet song about heartbreak by a cute, sweet band. I’ve been called cute and sweet before, so maybe it fits. Let’s hope my death’s not quite a heartbreak though – let’s hope I’m old and contented and fulfilled by the long life I’ve lead at that point.

WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST?
National Disgrace by Atmosphere
I do enjoy causing a good public spectacle. So far I’ve shied away from the national stage, but we can all dream.

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET?
What’s Up? by 4 Non Blondes
I think my biggest secret is that I actually have a 4 Non Blondes track. That’s kind of disgraceful.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS?
Countin’ Down the Hours by Ted Leo + The Pharmacists
Well, I am really looking forward to my dinner with Finn tonight. I am hoping to take her mind off the seriousness of the surrounding familial events going on right now.

WHAT SHOULD YOU POST THIS AS?
Prove Yourself by Radiohead
Not a bad idea, really.

Responses

  1. I love that Frou Frou song but dancing to Journey would be sooo good.

    I haven’t seen that cartoon in years but I quote that line way too often cause its just sooo good! 😉

  2. That’s so horrible about Finn’s dad. It’s always the good guys, it seems…

  3. I second what Irish Lass said above. It is so sad, inexplicable and unfair. Why DOES it always happen to the good guys who have done nothing to deserve it? I hope his treatment is successful…


Leave a Reply

Categories

